Menu Monday

I’m taking a cue from my friend Kirsten. She posts her menu for the week on her blog, and I liked the idea so much that I decided to do the same thing. 🙂

We usually do our grocery shopping on Saturday, so I plan my meals from Saturday through Friday, but it’s just easier to post them on Monday. Any ways, here we go…

Monday: Tacos & Spanish Rice
Tuesday: From Freezer *
Wednesday: Spaghetti, MB, and veggies
Thursday: Sloppy Joe Wagon Wheels (recipe to follow)
Friday: Calzones
Saturday: Roast Chicken
Sunday: Chicken Soup

* When I say From Freezer, I mean one of my Meal Makin’ Mamas Meals. There are a group of us (5 – 6) who make these meals. Usually I just pick a meal that my family likes, and I know will freeze well. Then I make 5 or 6 of those and freeze them. When we get together, we all swap meals and come home with 5 or 6 different meals for the month. It’s so nice and less expensive then some of the Meal Makin’ branches out there. On to our recipe…

Sloppy Joe Wagon Wheels
1 package (16 ounces) wagon wheels pasta
2 pounds ground beef
1 medium green pepper, chopped
1 medium onion, chopped
1 jar (28 ounces) meatless spaghetti sauce (or 3 1/2 cups homemade)
1 jar (15 1/2 ounces) sloppy joe sauce
(Substitution: I decided to use 4 cups of homemade sauce with a packet of Sloppy Joe seasonings.)

Cook pasta according to package directions. Meanwhile, in a large skillet, cook beef, green pepper and onion until meat is no longer pink; drain. Stir in the spaghetti sauce and sloppy joe sauce; heat through. Drain pasta; top with beef mixture. Yield: 8 servings.

Thanks for stopping by today!
Antoinette

One thought on “Menu Monday

  1. Pingback: Meals for the month… or maybe year? « Crafty Antoinette

Leave a comment