Pot Roast Stoup

I made the yummiest soup yesterday. It was one of those soups that started out as one recipe and quickly morphed into another. I used a Beef Barley Lentil Soup recipe that I found at All Recipes. But since I made pot roast, mashed potatoes, and gravy the night before, I incorporated those into the soup making it…

Pot Roast Stoup

I medium, chopped
2 cups of sliced carrots
1 cup sliced celery
1 cups dried lentils
1/2 cup pearl barley
2 or more cups leftover mashed potatoes, chopped up
1-2 TB lemon juice
1 tsp salt
1/2 tsp ground black pepper
6-8 cups of water
leftover gravy
Beef Base or Beef Bouillon
Left over pot roast, chopped up

In a 5-qt crock pot layer the onions, celery, carrots, lentils, barley, & mashed potatoes. Add lemon juice. Sprinkle with salt and pepper. Combine your leftover gravy with enough water to make 2 cups. Add to crock pot. Add 6 more cups of water along with 3 tsp of Beef Base, or 3 cubes of Beef bouillon (I suppose beef broth would also work).
Cook: 6 hours on low or 3 hours on High. Add your beef, then cook: 2 more hours on low or 1 more hour on high.
img_0140
Yummy!!!
I can post my recipe for pot roast tomorrow too.
Until then… STAY WARM! It’s cold here in Minnesota. As I write this, the forecast says it’s feels like -20 with the wind chill. Don’t really need to be anywhere today, so I’m staying home!
Thanks for stopping by today. 🙂
Antoinette

Leave a comment