Creamy Warm Chai Smoothie -S- {Trim Healthy Tuesday}

Head on over to Gwen's nest for more Trim Healthy recipes. :-D
Head on over to Gwen’s nest for more Trim Healthy recipes. ๐Ÿ˜€

There’s frost on our car this morning. Yep.

So I’m done with icy cold drinks and on to warm tea for the next couple of, several months.

One of my favorite drinks over the summer has been The Shrinker which was posted on Trim Healthy Mama’s fb page. I would make this, add it to a quart sized jar, fill it with ice and sip on it all morning.

But I don’t want to think about ice right now unless it’s to put in my son’s steaming hot soup.

However, I have tweaked this to make a really yummy warm chai with added protein powder.

Creamy Warm Chai Smoothie
Creamy Warm Chai Smoothie

Pearl and Serene mention Oolong tea in their post, which has amazing health benefits. I, however, already had a bunch of loose green tea and, since it has similar health benefits, decided to substitute that.

Now, I’m not originally a tea drinker, so I don’t much care for the taste of green tea. Enter Red Rooibos Chai. The kind that I have is a loose leaf tea with no sugar… just strait up tea. (And it is a favorite around this house.)

Here’s how I make it:

2 cups boiling water
1/2 TB loose green tea
1/2 TB loose red rooibos chai
1 tsp cinnamon
1 tsp stevia
pinch of cayenne
pinch of salt (optional)
1 tsp vanilla (optional)
1/2 c almond milk
2 scoops chocolate whey protein

1. Steep green tea and red rooibos chai together (I use this infuser in 1 cup of boiling water.

2. Put 1 TB of coconut oil in the other cup of boiling water until it melts. (The 1 TB of coconut oil makes this an S drink.)

3. Meanwhile, put your tea mixture in a blender. Add the spices, almond milk and whey protein. Turn your blender on and slowly add the water/coconut oil mixture. (I actually use my Magic Bullet for this.)

It’ll get nice and frothy and yummy. ๐Ÿ™‚

You’ll be surprised how quickly this goes down & how full you’ll feel!

Thanks for stopping by and let me know if you give it a try.

Have a great day!
Antoinette

For more delicious, healthy  recipes, check out my Wildtree Website.
For more delicious, healthy recipes, check out my Wildtree Website.

 

8 thoughts on “Creamy Warm Chai Smoothie -S- {Trim Healthy Tuesday}

  1. Joyfulmomof6

    Hi- What a great idea. I’ve been missing my frappas. This is the perfect cold weather substitute.
    I made this with oolong and rooibos, as I was out of green tea. I also used vanilla protein powder, but added a TBS of cocoa powder.
    I think, though, that the coconut oil has to be reduced to 1 tsp instead of a TBS for it be a FP.

    1. Antoinette

      Isn’t it fun to play around with? Thanks for the tip on the coconut oil. Good to know if I want to make this a FP. I probably should have mentioned that this is an S version for me. I need that extra coconut oil for my brain in the morning. ๐Ÿ˜‰
      Thank you so much for stopping by!

      1. Joyfulmomof6

        The only reason I mentioned about reducing coconut oil is that it is listed in the link up over at Gwen’s as FP ๐Ÿ™‚
        Otherwise, yes it would be a great S to get in some extra coconut oil. In the past I have tried putting it in my coffee, but I just couldn’t get used to the oil slick. I know some people really like it that way, but putting it in the smoothie is brilliant, because it’s hidden!

      2. Antoinette

        Oh my goodness you are hilarious! Oil slick… ๐Ÿ˜€ Thanks for pointing out the FP. I didn’t realize it said that. I made a couple of changes so hopefully no one will get confused. Enjoy your THM drinks… minus the oil slick! ๐Ÿ˜‰

  2. sharon stoltzfus

    I was shocked how yummy and filling this was! I used 1 bag oolong and 1 bag green tea and only one scoop of vanilla whey protein powder and 1 tsp. of coc. oil. Do you know if that would still be a FP?

Leave a comment